Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"]


Two voting precincts being moved before party primaries



voting 2021 primary

Vicksburg voters who usually cast their ballots at Vicksburg Junior High School and the Vicksburg High School Armory will be voting at new locations for the 2021 primary, runoff and general elections.

Only two of the ten city precincts are affected by the change.

Precinct 4 is moved from Vicksburg Junior High School to First Baptist Church, 1607 Cherry Street, and Precinct 5 from the Armory to Travelers Rest Baptist Church, 718 Bowmar Ave.

City Clerk Walter Osborne made a statement saying that cards notifying the voters in the affected precincts of the changes are being prepared and should be in the mail this week.

The first party primary is April 6, with a runoff slated for April 27 if necessary. The general election is June 8.

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen approved relocating the precincts at the request of the Vicksburg Warren School because of ongoing construction at the schools and concerns for safety and security.

Six candidates have qualified to run for office:

• In the mayoral race: incumbent Mayor George Flaggs Jr., independent, and District 3 Warren County Supervisor Shawn Jackson, Democrat.

• North Ward Alderman: incumbent Michael Mayfield, Democrat.

• South Ward Alderman: incumbent Alex Monsour, Republican, Thomas “TJ” Mayfield and Vickie Bailey, Democrats.

The deadline to register to vote in the first primary is March 8. City residents can register at the Warren County Circuit Clerk’s office on the second floor of the Warren County Courthouse or the city clerk’s office on the second floor of City Hall.

Copyright © 2022 Vicksburg Daily News.

Vicksburg Daily News