Nearly 90 years after prohibition ended across the nation in 1933, Mississippi is one step closer to ending it in the state.
A new law signed by Gov. Tate Reeves last summer went into effect Jan. 1. The law makes the possession of alcohol legal in all 82 Mississippi counties; however, it does not allow the sale of alcohol in counties that have not voted to allow it.
Most counties in Mississippi allow both the sale and possession of alcohol; however, 29 counties still prohibit its sale. Counties can hold a vote to put the question to their residents.
Mississippi was the first state to pass a prohibition law in 1908, more than a decade before the 18th Amendment made producing, transporting or selling alcohol illegal everywhere in the U.S. in 1919. When the amendment was repealed 14 years later, Mississippi was not among the states to ratify the new amendment. It took until 1966 for the Magnolia State to sign on to the 21st Amendment, which repealed the 18th.
Still, the repeal wasn’t across the board. Mississippi left it up to individual counties to decide whether to allow possession and sale of alcohol.