Connect with us
[the_ad_placement id="manual-placement"]

COVID-19

Failure to isolate after COVID-19 diagnosis now punishable by fine or imprisonment

Published

on

Dr. Thomas Dobbs, left, and Gov. Tate Reeves in March of 2020 during one of the first news conferences about COVID-19 in Mississippi. (Photo via screen grab)

On Friday, Aug. 20, Dr. Thomas Dobbs, State Health Officer and Executive Director of the Mississippi State Department of Health, issued a statewide Order for the Isolation of Individuals Diagnosed with COVID-19.

The order requires all Mississippians, regardless of vaccination status, to isolate at home as soon as they become aware of an infection of COVID-19 and remain isolated for 10 days from the onset of illness, or for asymptomatic individuals, 10 days from the date of a positive test.

Failure or refusal to obey the order is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 or up to five years behind bars, or both.

Read the full order here.

Continue Reading

Copyright © 2021 Vicksburg Daily News.

Vicksburg Daily News